Ain’t Nothin’ Else I can Say (eh eh)

The F-word’s good friend Rueben dropped us a note with a link to Style.com’s feature on Lady Gaga and her influence on the runways. Now, I actually do like Lady G. and her pokerface, and many of the outrageous things she says and dons, but I’m a little surprised this came out of Style.com. This is couture, vulgarized (I say it with affection); not some reflection of pop’s influence on one of the most revered events of the fashion year. If we were to draw a similarity between Lady G. and haute couture, though, it’d be that both are just way OTT.

Style.com

Style.com

In any case I think Lady G. managed to turn heads again when she appeared in a, um, Kermit jacket. “Kermit Jacket”, I have to say, is the most understated description I can think of:

Lady Gaga and adulating Kermits

Lady Gaga and adulating Kermits

And who else but JCDC would have created something like that! There’s this thing about having been around long enough — you get to do anything you want. I think he has the most fun in fashion, so everything he does is just really amusing to watch.

Jean-Charles de Castelbajac, FW '09

Jean-Charles de Castelbajac, FW '09

I never thought I’d dedicate a post to a pop-star here, but here we are. Just for good measure, I’ve thrown in one of my favourite shots of Lady Gaga — resplendent in her Ashley Isham Post-It dress. Makes my heart flutter just that little bit, like little slips of slightly-adhesive paper in the wind.
LadyGaga-PostIt

This entry was published on July 26, 2009 at 1:20 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Ain’t Nothin’ Else I can Say (eh eh)

  1. Tom Tuttle from Tacoma on said:

    i really enjoyed this entry.

    “Makes my heart flutter just that little bit, like little slips of slightly-adhesive paper in the wind.” –> beautifully put.

  2. rueben on said:

    alliteration overkill ^

Leave a Reply

